The Iroquois School District Foundation distributed several scholarships to graduating seniors at the Commencement Ceremony in June, 2018. The Iroquois School District Foundation presented two $500 scholarships to two senior students who best embody the spirit of all that is Iroquois based upon scholarship (grades), industry (a willingness to work), volunteerism, and financial need.

All Iroquois School District Foundation scholarships and named scholarship 2018 recipients are as follows:

Jim Bonniger Memorial Scholarship

Iroquois Foundation's William A Baxter Scholarship

Iroquois Foundation's Dr. Joseph Buzanowski Scholarship

Cadden Family Memorial Scholarship

Jean Forsyth Memorial Scholarship

Daniel Holdnak Memorial Scholarship

Iroquois Class of 1979 Memorial Scholarship

Johnson Family Scholarship in memory of Ryan Johnson

You can help a graduating senior by designated donation as a named scholarship as well - see information below.

Guidelines for Establishing a Scholarship:

Creating a named scholarship through the Iroquois School District Foundation is one way you can assist students, leave a legacy, or honor family and friends.

  • Step 1: Determine the type of scholarship fund - either ‘endowed’ or an ‘annual.’

  • Step2 : Establish criteria such as the name of the scholarship, a student’s area of interest, academic achievement, merit, financial need, with help from the ISD Foundation. 

  • Step 3: Administration of scholarship funds are completed by a selection committee that carefully reviews the applications submitted by Iroquois students and selects the most deserving recipient(s) based on the donor-established criteria.

Tax Benefits of Funding a Scholarship:

A donor will receive immediate tax benefits in the year the gift is made. A donor can also provide for a scholarship in their estate plans without affecting their current income or assets. 

Frequently Asked Questions:

How are ISD Foundation scholarships named?
The donor of a scholarship establishes the scholarship name. You can establish a scholarship in your own name or choose to name it for a friend, family member, or a favorite faculty member. 

How is the selection criteria established for the scholarship I am establishing?
The donor aids in establishing the scholarship criteria by expressing the intentions for the award. The ISD Foundation will draft the scholarship application according to your specifications and present it to you for your approval.

How are Iroquois School District Foundation scholarships awarded?
Foundation scholarships for graduating seniors are advertised on the ISD website and applications are collected through the IHS Guidance Office. A selection committee carefully reviews each application and selects the most deserving recipient(s) based on the established criteria.

Will I receive notification when a student is awarded the scholarship?
The donor will be notified annually when the scholarship recipient(s)has been selected. Recipients often write a thank-you note to the donor.

For more information contact: Iroquois School District Foundation, 800 Tyndall Avenue, Erie, PA 16511 or

Contact the Guidance Office for applications for the following scholarships:

  • Joseph R. Buzanowski Memorial Scholarship

  • Cunningham Scholarship

  • DeBell Scholarship

  • Jean Forsyth Memorial Scholarship

  • Jim Bonniger Memorial Scholarship

  • D.J. Wegley Memorial Scholarship

  • Eric Wingrove Memorial Scholarship